top of page
Save the Dates
2024 EHMSG - Cover Picture HD.jpg

Royalty-free stock photo ID: 294328388

Save the Dates!

37th Workshop of the

European Helicobacter and Microbiota Study Group

September 12 - 14, 2024

Porto, Portugal


Dear Colleagues and Friends,


We are delighted to invite you to the XXXVIIth Workshop of the European Helicobacter and Microbiota Study Group (EHMSG), which will take place in Porto, Portugal, from 12th to 14th September, 2024.


The EHMSG is a multidisciplinary group of scientists and clinicians who share a common interest in the field of Helicobacter and microbiota research. Our annual workshop is a unique opportunity to exchange knowledge, experience, and ideas on the latest advances and challenges in this dynamic and rapidly evolving area.


The scientific program of the workshop will cover a wide range of topics, including the epidemiology, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of Helicobacter and microbiota-associated diseases, the molecular mechanisms and host-microbe interactions underlying these conditions, and the impact of Helicobacter and microbiota on inflammation, immunity, and cancer. The workshop will feature keynote lectures, oral and poster presentations, and interactive sessions with experts in the field.


We are especially proud to host the workshop in Porto, a city with a long and distinguished tradition of gastric cancer research. Researchers from the University of Porto have been at the forefront of this field, contributing to the understanding of the etiopathogenesis of hereditary and Helicobacter pylori-induced gastric carcinogenesis, as well as the role of other microbial factors, such as the gut microbiota, in gastric cancer development and progression.


This is the second time that Porto has the honor of hosting the EHMSG workshop, after the successful XXIIth edition in 2009. We look forward to welcoming you to Porto and to sharing with you an exciting and memorable workshop.




Professor Dr. Jose Carlos Machado

President of the EHMSG



President of the European Helicobacter
and Microbiota Study Group

José C. Machado, Portugal


Members and International

Scientific Committee

  • Leif P. Andersen, Denmark

  • Emilie Bessède, France

  • Lars Engstrand, Sweden

  • Antonio Gasbarrini, Italy

  • Javier P. Gisbert, Spain

  • Georgina Hold, Australia

  • Gianluca Ianiro, Italy

  • Josbert Keller, The Netherlands

  • Juozas Kupcinskas, Lithuania

  • Marcis Leja, Latvia

  • José C. Machado, Portugal

  • Peter Malfertheiner, Germany

  • Francis Mégraud, France

  • Colm A. O’Morain, Ireland

  • Mirjana Rajilić-Stojanović, Serbia

  • Ari P. Ristimäki, Finland

  • Theodore Rokkas, Greece

  • Christian Schulz, Germany

  • Annemieke Smet, Belgium

  • Sinead Smith, Ireland

  • Herbert Tilg, Austria

Local Scientific and Organising Committee

  • Nuno Almeida, Coimbra, Portugal

  • João Antunes, Porto, Portugal

  • Miguel Areia, Coimbra, Portugal

  • Fátima Carneiro, Porto, Portugal

  • Patrícia Carneiro, Porto, Portugal

  • Mário Dinis Ribeiro, Porto, Portugal

  • Rui Ferreira, Porto, Portugal

  • Céu Figueiredo, Porto, Portugal

  • Joana Figueiredo, Porto, Portugal

  • Diogo Libânio, Porto, Portugal

  • José Carlos Machado, Porto, Portugal

  • Carla Oliveira, Porto, Portugal

  • Carina Pereira, Porto, Portugal

  • Armando Peixoto, Porto, Portugal

  • Ricardo Marcos Pinto, Porto, Portugal

  • Celso Reis, Porto, Portugal

Stay updated!

Sign up to our mailing list

bottom of page